Application and review process

Institutions and individual scientists may apply for grants. A panel of experts in art history and archeology will review all applications.

For more information see the Swedish pages.


The Foundation

Berit Wallenberg established the Foundation in November 1955 by a donation of SEK 406,000.

Berit Wallenberg (1902-1995) was a researcher in the field of archeology, an art critic and a keen photographer.

The Foundation has distributed around SEK 234 million in grants since its establishment.

Focusing on archeology and art history

The Foundation promotes research in archeology and art history, preferably studies related to Sweden and the other Nordic countries up to end of 19th century.

Grant policy

Grants are awarded for Ph.D. studies, large research projects and for smaller projects.



The Wallenberg Foundations

The Wallenberg Foundations is the collective name for 16 non-profit public and private foundations established by individual members of the Wallenberg family or in honor of family members. 

The three largest Foundations granted a total of SEK 2.7 billion in 2023. 

The largest of the Wallenberg Foundations is Knut and Alice Wallenberg Foundation, founded in 1917, which promotes scientific research within the natural sciences, technology and medicine.

The other two large foundations are Marianne and Marcus Wallenberg Foundation (scientific research mainly within the social sciences), and Marcus and Amalia Wallenberg Foundation (scientific research mainly within the humanities).

In addition, there are a number of other Wallenberg Foundations.